Travel Tuesday – My Travel Wish List

The UK is currently in the midst of a heatwave and apparently temperatures here over the past couple of days have been hotter than in India (mad I know!) – perfect weather for sitting at my desk with the fan on gazing out the window and dreaming of being on a beach somewhere with a nice cold drink in my hand. However with no holidays booked because of everything that needs doing to the house and our increasingly small budget to go with it, I thought I would depress myself even further and share my travel wishlist with you!

  1. New York

I visited New York for the first time last November and am already dying to go back there again. I have truly never been anywhere like this amazing place where so many different people and cultures come together. Particular highlights for me were sipping cocktails in the revolving bar after watching my favourite musical The Lion King on Broadway, a sightseeing cruise where we were lucky enough to see a humpback whale in the Hudson River and rowing a boat on Central Park Lake in the warm autumn sunshine on our last day. When we visited New York was just getting ready for Christmas, but I would love to go back again in the summer to see this fabulous city in a different season.

  1. Iceland

This is one on my bucket list. I would love to visit Iceland and spend an evening at the famous blue lagoon. I have also heard amazing things about local whale watching trips where if you are very lucky, you can catch a glimpse of these magnificent animals playing beneath the illusive Northern Lights.

  1. Italy

A dream for a pizza and pasta lover like me! I would love to visit the Amalfi Coast and the beautiful clifftop towns such as Sorrento and Positano. The scenery looks to die for and I would love to relax in the sun with a glass of Italian Pinot Grigio.

  1. The Maldives

One for a honeymoon I think! I can already imagine myself staying in one of the fabulous water bungalows spending my days lazing on the beach sipping a cocktail from a coconut. I would also love to conquer my fears and learn scuba diving to see the amazing brightly coloured fish that are native to this area.

  1. Disneyland Paris

Another place I have already visited but Disneyland truly is my favourite place on earth and I would love to go back again this year for their 25th Anniversary celebrations. As soon as I walk through the turnstiles on to Main Street USA I start smiling and don’t stop until it’s time to leave. The characters, the rides, the parades and the amazing Disney Dreams spectacular at the end of each day are paradise for a Disney fan like me.

  1. South Africa

To go on safari in the Kruger National Park and be amongst lions, giraffes and elephants in their natural habitat would be a lifelong dream for me. It would be amazing to stay in one of the luxurious safari lodges, although I could possibly be persuaded to rough it in a tent – I’m not sure if I’m brave enough to get THAT close to nature!

  1. Thailand

There’s so much I would love to see in Thailand! The bright lights of Bangkok and a visit to an elephant orphanage followed by a few days relaxing on Phi Phi Island – bliss!

 

Leave a Reply

