Learning to sail in Poole Harbour

I love where I live. You have everything you could possibly wish for in easy reach – the beautiful sandy beaches of Sandbanks and Canford Cliffs, the rolling Purbeck hills, even the New Forest National Park is less than an hour away. I can’t see myself moving anywhere else – ever!

I also happen to work for a pretty good company and on Wednesday evening we were taken on a team building exercise to learn how to sail 2 Olympic yachts in Poole Harbour.

We were so lucky with the weather, amazing sunshine with just the right amount of breeze for sailing (although I did make sure to take my travel tablets just in case the wind should pick up at any point throughout the journey!).

We left from Poole Quay and headed past Brownsea Island into the harbour where we all got the chance to pull the ropes and winches that control the sails and to steer the boat (I was rubbish by the way, you can tell I went through 3 driving instructors when learning to drive!) and then we stopped for dinner next to Old Harry Rocks.

There’s something strangely relaxing about drinking wine and eating buffet food on a yacht on a warm summer’s evening.

On the way back, we were even able to use the spinnaker which is the fantastic “big” sail at the front of the yacht – excuse my very technical description!

All in all it was a great evening and it was nice getting to know my colleagues in other departments who I don’t talk to on a daily basis. It was my first of experience of sailing which I know is appalling for someone who has lived in Poole for 24 years but it’s definitely something I would like to do more of in the future.

You never know I might have a career change and become a professional sailor!

Leave a Reply

